I Hereby Resolve…

I’ve never really been one for New Year’s resolutions. I usually just make something up at the last minute, and then either give up because its impossible or give up because I just don’t care that much.

This year though, there are actually things that I want to change about myself. In general I’m happy with the way my life is going, but I often feel like I’m just coasting and not really living.

Mainly, I want to just do more. Live more. I spend a lot of time doing a whole lot of nothing. That needs to change.

Sometime soon, I’m going to come up with an actual list of things to this end that I would like to accomplish. Something that I can cross off and see that I’m progressing. But generally, I want to:

– Stop saying no to things.  I never do anything, never hang out with people. And then I feel bad for having no friends. So this year when someone asks me to something, I’m going to say yes unless I have a legitimate reason not to.

– Be healthier. Exercise more. No more going straight from my desk to the couch to the bed. Start cooking more often again. And cut back on processed foods. And update my food blog again. Also I should probably see a doctor since I haven’t been in about 8 years. Maybe a doctor can help with my anxiety and make #1 a little easier too.

–  Turn off the TV and read instead. Only watch shows that I actually care about. Sign up for the LSAT and buy a practice book.

– Take more time for myself. Get up 10 minutes earlier and enjoy my coffee. Do one thing a day just for me. Sign up for and attend a class of some sort: cooking, academic, dance, whatever.

Here’s to a happy 2009!

Explore posts in the same categories: boob tube, career, life

5 Comments on “I Hereby Resolve…”

  1. Tina Says:

    Um, LSAT? I cannot get behind that resolution. Or at least I can’t get behind it if the end result is law school. Save your soul. No really.

  2. lk Says:

    unfortunately, law school is the only way I know of to be a lawyer which is what I have always wanted to do, and I’ve been thinking about it more and more ever since I had jury duty last year.

  3. Tina Says:

    As a lawyer, which you know, I cannot emphasize enough how many other career pathways there are to choose. If you must, and it seems you must, choose wisely. You cannot underestimate the value of a law school with programs you want to focus on. I chose status over what suited me and although I don’t regret it (because I never know what I want until confronted with what I don’t want), it’s not the best way to go about things.

    Pick up some mensa or even junior mensa books. They help with the logic games, believe it or not. Oh and if you’re at all interested in science or computers, go toward IP law. It’s a guaranteed money-maker and a guaranteed job.

  4. LK Says:

    Thanks, dude! I appreciate the advice. 🙂 Don’t worry though- this isn’t a rash decision or anything. I definitely know what I’m getting myself in to. (And I have a career that I adore and have already been in school long enough, so I wouldn’t even be thinking about this unless it was something I really wanted. And the lsat is just the first step. Once that’s done, I’ll reevaluate.)

    Thanks for the tip on the mensa books! I’m actually pretty good at the logic games (I think they’re fun) but I need to work on my speed. I’ll check those out- I’m sure the more I practice, the faster I’ll get.


  5. puerto princesa tour packages puerto princesa tour packages Hotels puerto Princesa


Leave a Reply

