Project!

The boy and I have been wanting to get a chair for the living room, but we can’t agree on a style for the life of us (I favor something like a Queen Ann, he wants a huge, ugly  Lazy Boy type thing).  I saw this chair at a yard sale this summer though and thought that it might be a good temporary placeholder if I fixed it up a bit. Well, guess what? We both love it! AND it was only 5 bucks! Can’t beat that! (Yes, it sat for like 4 months untouched. deal with it. I was busy.)

OK, I suck at remembering to take before pictures, but this thing was in pretty bad shape. The wood was painted this gross fake cherry color, and the seat had a big ole rip.

(I don’t know why this picture insists on posting sideways?)

So yeah, pretty bad shape. But only 5 bucks! I painted all the wood white, which brightened the whole look up a ton and did my best at stitching up the rip. Then I got a nice, cushy piece of upholstery foam from the craft store and made a new seat for it (it makes it way more comfortable and -bonus!- covers the rip). I covered the new seat with some fun fabric, and made a little pillow with what was left over. Yay! So much better now, right? (ignore the electrical tape, that was temporarily holding the fabric down until I could find the fining nails. It has been removed.)

Explore posts in the same categories: brilliance, frenchified, home, life

Leave a Reply

