Am I the only one?

who is completely annoyed by shaving cream/ gel? I mean, not the product itself, but the packaging. I keep my shaving gel in the shower… due to the necessity of water and nakedness this seems the most logical place to shave. I’m pretty sure I’m not alone on that. So really, why do all of the cheap shaving creams come in a freaking metal can?  Metal + water = ugly rust stains that don’t like to be removed. How hard would it be for them too just use a different can ? Or cover that little bottom edge with some plastic or something? I’ve seen plenty of “fancy” gels that come in a tube… but I’ve never seen packaging like that on cheap brands. When it comes to shaving cream, I don’t want to spend that much…. but if it means no more gross stains in the shower, I may have to start splurging.

Explore posts in the same categories: life

8 Comments on “Am I the only one?”

  1. Rana Says:

    I suggest giving the Schick Intuition a try. It’s that razor thingie with the cream in solid form next to the blades. Totally eliminates the need for cream or gel or any extra product. I totally swear by it. It actually makes shaving easier and faster…so much so, that I actually shave my legs in the winter!

  2. LK Says:

    this is going to sound picky, but I’ve tried that one and didn’t really like it. I take long, hot showers and the “stuff’ would just melt away on me when it was sitting there.Plus they’re so expensive! Give me my electric with its bi-annual blade change any day.

  3. Rana Says:

    Are we talking about the same razor? The one I use, I just shave with. There’s no sitting of anything.

  4. lk Says:

    when I’m done shaving and put it on the shelf or the little shower caddy. I need to keep my razor in the shower or else I forget to bring it in and end up going 6 months without shaving.

  5. Kelly Says:

    I hate that too! I’ve found that cheap conditioner (like suave or v05) works just as well or better than regular shaving cream, and it doesn’t leave rusty crap on my bathtub.

  6. Tina Says:

    I’m with you. And how about the fact that female shower cream costs more than male shower cream? What’s that about? I hate shower gel companies.

    I once bought some of the Benefit shower gel in the big tub thing. It’s nice and all but it’s way to tricky to handle in the shower. I can’t tell you how many times I filled it with water, dropped it, and couldn’t screw the lid back on (due to soapy/wet hands).

    Have you tried the travel versions? Maybe you’ll use them up before they rust?


  7. I have always wondered the very same thing. Because of this, I never use them now. Not very good for their bottom line, now is it? Like Kelly, I use conditioner. It even smells betterr.


  8. […] The gods must have been reading my old post complaining about shave cream leaving rust in my tub. A few weeks ago, another blog did a review of a cheap (around $5) shave cream that some in a […]


Leave a Reply

